Boxed in Brains

brains

I am not a huge advocate for television watching.  In fact, my new HD set only gets one channel.  Seriously.  One.  Channel.  And I don’t even watch anything that comes on that channel, so I’ve been T.V. -less this past year.  But even before that, I only watched T.V. as a treat.  Every once and a while.  Never had cable or HBO my entire life.  Hotel rooms, grandma and friends’ houses were the ones who did that.  My parents (thankfully) saved my childhood from being sans imagination and carted out the little yellow screen for rare occasions like family movie night.

Depsite my somewhat ranty post on T.V. watching, I do have several shows that I love! So.  Here they are (I’m sure I left out a lot of greats…tell me about yours in the comments)!

MY TOP TEN SHOWS:

the office

1.  The Office.  Either you get it – or you don’t.  I personally find the awkward silences, quirpy conversations, realistic documentary style filming, and bizarre cast to be hilarious.  Once you get into it, the characters seem like real people you might bump into one day at the typical paper office.  My fave? Dwight.

monty python

2.  Monty Python’s Flying Circus.  Oh, brit humor.  How I love thee.  And there’s always something vaguely entertaining about a group of grown men making fools of themselves (e.x.  Three Stooges).

virigin queen

3.  BBC Masterpiece Theatre.  Every Sunday at 9 P.M. it delighted me.  Weekly classics? Mmm hmm.  My favorites are The Virgin Queen and Jane Eyre.

batman

4.  Batman: The Animated Series.  Dark.  Violent.  Dramatic.  Witty.  Episodic.  Pretty much the T.V. show of my childhood…I watched every single episode until it ended.  (All the superhero cartoons of the 80’s and 90’s were pretty good though).

whose line

5.  Whose Line Is It Anyway?. The only thing I can say about this show, is that I laugh louder than the studio audience…

avatar

6.  Avatar: the Last Airbender. In a world where gifted people, known as “benders”, can control the four elements, a young boy struggles to restore peace and freedom to his war-torn land.  He is the Avatar, and he alone can save humanity from their opression.  Warning – this show is EPIC.  Once you get started, you will not be able to stop!

monk

7.  Monk. My entire family loves this show.  OCD + sleuthing = best thing ever.

pr

8.  Project Runway. Okay…you caught me.  I actually enjoy a reality show.  But it’s the only one that’s not crap.

malcolm in the middle

9.  Malcolm in the Middle. Having a brother really makes a difference in appreciating the humor running throughout this show, but no one can deny the hilarity of Reese, Dewey, Hal, Lois, and Malcolm in this sitcom about America’s favorite dysfunctional family.

snl

10.  Saturday Night Live. No explanation needed.

“I find television very educating.  Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.” -Groucho Marx

♥ L

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

